Sheltair Aviation and Avfuel Corporation have launched a scholarship programme, ‘Future Takes Flight’.

The Sheltair and Avfuel: Future Takes Flight Scholarships will provide $30,000 in educational funds annually. The programme will award six $5,000 scholarships a year across three categories: two for learning to fly or advanced pilot ratings; two for aviation technicians; and two for continuing education.

“The Future Takes Flight scholarship programme stems from a desire to re-invest in the aviation community,” said Lisa Holland, Sheltair’s president. “The Sheltair and Avfuel teams felt the best way to do so was by providing meaningful financial support to aviators pursuing a greater commitment to business aviation. We’re giving back to the industry that has given us everything.”

By splitting the scholarship funds across three key categories, Sheltair and Avfuel aim to support advancement throughout a broad scope of educational opportunities within business aviation.

Funds in the learning to fly or advanced pilot ratings category can be used for course work or flight lessons for students pursuing their private pilot certificate, adding a type rating (multi-engine, commercial or others), adding to their certificate with an ATP, completing a bachelor’s degree, working toward a CAM certification, or completing upset recovery training.

Funds in the aviation technicians category can be used to start or continue aviation technician coursework, or achieve a mechanic’s inspector authorisation certification.

Funds in the continuing education category can be used to further skills needed when working at an FBO, charter company, maintenance facility or flight school.

Scholarship applications will be made available every year on December 1 with a June 1 deadline. Avfuel and Sheltair executives will then evaluate the applications to select the year’s six recipients based on essay submissions and with special consideration given to those facing financial hardship. The scholarship recipients will be notified on August 1 and announced at NBAA-BACE every year.