Spanish airports operator Aena MD Javier Marín has been elected president of Airports Council International Europe.

Geneva Airport was the setting this week for the 31st Annual Congress and General Assembly of Airports Council International Europe (ACI Europe), which made a number of announcements regarding its leadership.

Javier Marín, managing director, airports and executive member of the board of directors for Spanish airports operator Aena, has been elected president, succeeding Jost Lammers, CEO of Munich Airport.

Marín said of his appointment, “It is an honour and a pleasure to accept this position. This comes, of course, at a challenging time for our industry. We are poised on the brink of an extraordinary step-change, readying ourselves for the post-pandemic reality. The role of our association has never been more central – giving us voice on the international stage, defending and promoting our license to operate, and making us even greater than the sum of our parts as we digitalise and decarbonise our industry. I thank ACI Europe’s members for their trust in me at this critical time”.
Having spent two decades at Aena, Marín is responsible for both the Spanish airports network and the overseas airports operated by subsidiary Aena International. Prior to joining Aena, Marín held positions at the Universidad Politécnica of Madrid, the Spanish Civil Aviation Authority, the Paris-based Eurocontrol Experimental Centre and Indra.

During this year’s General Assembly, the following were also appointed to the board of ACI Europe for a first term: André Schneider, CEO, Geneva Airport; Giovanni Battista Scalia, CEO, GESAP – Palermo; Daniel Burkard, deputy airport director, Moscow Domodedovo Airport; Kimmo Mäki, CEO, Finavia; and Franck Goldnadel, chairman of the board, Société Aéroports de la Côte d'Azur. Also joining the board were: Gilles Tellier, director of airport concessions, CCIMBO; Serkan Kaptan, deputy CEO, TAV; Goran Jandreoski, executive director, Airports of Montenegro; John Holland-Kaye, CEO, Heathrow Airport; Stefan Schulte, chairman of the executive board, Fraport; Edward Arkwright, deputy CEO, Groupe ADP; and Huseyin Kadri Samsunlu, CEO, IGA.
David Cicéo, MD of Cluj Avram Iancu International Airport and president of the Romanian Airports Association, and Dalton Philips, CEO, daa, were appointed to the board for a second term.